Book Awards

Literary Awards:

  • National Book Awards:
  • Man Booker Prize:
  • Costa Book Awardsone of the most prestigious and popular literary prizes in the UK and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland.
  • National Book Critics AwardThe National Book Critics Circle consists of members who are book reviewers and book review editors. They give out book awards in six categories.
  • Pulitzer PrizeThe Prize for Fiction and prizes for other categories are presented each year at a luncheon at Columbia University. Usually in April.
  • Pen/Faulkner AwardThe PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is a national prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year. 

Mystery Awards:

  • Agatha AwardsThe Agatha Awards honor the “traditional mystery.” That is to say, books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie as well as others. 
  • Anthony AwardThe Anthony Awards are given out each year at the BoucherCon convention. It takes place in late September or October.
  • Barry Awards: the best works being published in the field of crime fiction 
  • CWA Dagger Awards (formerly the John Creasey Memorial Award): presented each year by the Crime Writer’s Association of Great Britain. Previously unpublished authors of crime novels writing in the English language are eligible for the award.
  • Edgar Awardgiven by the Mystery Writers of America. Foreign authors are eligible for Best Novel award … but only US writers can be given the Best First Novel award.
  • Macavity Awards: The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in four categories.
  • Shamus Awardsgiven by the Private Eye Writers of America to honor excellent work in the Private Eye genre.

Science Fiction Awards: