2016 Scotiabank Giller Longlist Announced

This year’s Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist was announced yesterday. The prize “highlights the very best in Canadian fiction,” awarding $100,000 CAD (about $77K USD) to the winner and $10,000 CAD to each of the finalists. The shortlist will be announce on September 26th and the winner will be announced November 7th.

The longlist for the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize is:
  • Mona Awad for her novel 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, published by Penguin Canada
  • Gary Barwin for his novel Yiddish for Pirates, published by Random House Canada 
  • Andrew Battershill for his novel Pillow, published by Coach House Books
  • David Bergen for his novel Stranger, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Emma Donoghue for her novel The Wonder, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Catherine Leroux for her novel The Party Wall, published by Biblioasis International Translation Series, translated by Lazer Lederhendler
  • Kathy Page for her story collection The Two of Us, published by A John Metcalf Book, an imprint of Biblioasis
  • Susan Perly for her novel Death Valley, published by Buckrider Books, an imprint of Wolsak and Wynn Publishers
  • Kerry Lee Powell for her story collection Willem De Kooning’s Paintbrush, published by HarperAvenue, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Steven Price for his novel By Gaslight, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Madeleine Thien for her novel Do Not Say We Have Nothing, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada
  • Zoe Whittall for her novel The Best Kind of People, published by House of Anansi Press Inc.
Emma Donoghue made the longlist in 2008 with her novel Sealed Letter (She’s also the author of the Man-Booker long listed Room, 2010). 
David Bergen made the 2010 short list with The Matter with Morris, the 2008 longlist with The Retreat, and won the 2005 Scotiabank Giller for The Time In Between.
Kathy Page made the 2014 longlist with Paradise and Elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *